Medal of Courage of the Israel Police

Hebrew name: Itur HaOmets

The decoration is awarded for an act of gallantry at the risk of life and in the line of duty, revealing extraordinary courage. This decoration is awarded by the Chief Commissioner of Police.

The designer of the medal was Nathan Karp. The original medal is a silver disc of 39 mm diameter and weight 25 gr., showing a stylized candelabra and the police emblem between two olive branches. The ribbon is blue with two thin red stripes. The medals were first minted by Kretschmer of Jerusalem in 1974 and issued by the Israel Government Coins and Medals Corporation, of silver.

Awards to civilians
The Medal of Valor, Medal of Courage and Medal of Distinguished Service may be awarded to civilians that do not belong to the police force, for acts performed by legal use of arrest authority, by fulfilling a legal duty, in assistance to police personnel performing a legal arrest, or during serious crimes or public disaster.


Medal versions:

Early version

Medal: silver medal without silver mark but with serial number (here covered).

Clasp: Dimensions 45.2 x14 mm. Silver mark 925 on the lower right corner.

Ribbon width 40 mm.



Version 2

Medal: silver medal with silver mark 925 but without serial number.

Clasp: Dimensions ~45x14 mm. Silver mark 925 on the lower left corner.

Ribbon width 40 mm.



Modern version

Medal: nickel

Clasp: Dimensions 41.5 x 15 mm, chrome covered metal

Ribbon width 40 mm.



At some stage, the design of the medal was changed, as can be seen in the picture below.
The police symbol was enlarged and the arms of the candelabra have a uniform depth.

Differences between version 1 and later versions.


Award Document